Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission

February 15, 2024 Meeting Minutes

The Regular meeting of the Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission was held Thursday February 15, 2024 at the Van Horne Community Center. Present was Brian McNulty, Blairstown, Eric Werner, Landfill Manager, Jon Kaestner, County, Doug Kearns, Garrison, Jared Vogeler, Van Horne, Loras Schulte, Norway, Bruce Cross, Newhall, Mike Seeck, County, Jen Zahradnik, County, Scott Hepker, Shellsburg, Nancy Thorkildson, Shellsburg, Alicia Presto, ECICOG and Amy Boddicker, County.

The meeting was called to order by Loras Schulte at 6:30 PM.

Motion made by Hepker, seconded by Boddicker to approve the election of officers as follow: Chairperson; Schulte, Vice Chair; Kearns, Treasurer; Zahradnik, Secretary; McNulty. All Ayes.

Motion made by Kaestner, seconded by Cross to approve the January 18, 2024 minutes. All Ayes.

The Treasurer's Report was given. Motion made by Kearns, seconded by Vogeler to accept the Treasurer's Report. All Ayes.

The Landfill Manager's Report included track loader delivery, water hauling, expected excavator delivery, and AmeriCorps update. Motion made by Kaestner, seconded by Seeck to accept the Landfill Manager's Report. All Ayes.

The ECICOG report included school program, summer reading program, onsite training, compost rebate program and white goods recycling contract. Motion made by Cross, seconded by Hepker to accept the ECICOG report. All Ayes.

Motion made by Kearns, seconded by Kaestner to approve Resolution 2024-02-01: Approval of Expenditures. All Ayes.

Motion made by Seeck, seconded by Hepker to approve Resolution 2024-02-02: Approval of Transfer of Funds between Savings/Checking. All Ayes.

Motion made by Hepker, seconded by Cross to approve Resolution 2024-02-03: Approval of Transfer of Funds to Capital Accounts. All Ayes.

Motion made by Kaestner, seconded by Boddicker to approve Resolution 2024-02-05 Named Depositories for Commission. All Ayes.

Motion made by Hepker, seconded by Seeck to approve the annual audit. All Ayes.

Motion to adjourn made by Hepker, seconded by Zahradnik. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 6:52 PM.

Chairperson		